Osama bin Laden is dead

May 3, 2011 § 1 Comment

So, what the US has been trying to accomplish for 9 years has finally happened: the ‘mastermind’ behind 9/11 and numerous other terrorist attacks has been killed. People are cheering, celebrating, delighting in his death. Really?

While I in no way condone the actions that he did or the acts he committed, and am deeply aggreived by the thousands of deaths that have resulted from his work with al-Qaeda, I find it frankly disgusting that people are celebrating his death. Death isn’t something you celebrate. I don’t care how awful a person acts or how many people they harm, they’re still a human. Give some dignity. Do we really want to lower ourselves to their level? Do we want to delight in death the way they might do? If we do, doesn’t that make us no better than them?

I have held this quote close to my heart for about 15 years, because it sums up what I believe pretty perfectly:

In spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart. I simply can’t build up my hopes on a foundation consisting of confusion, misery and death.
Anne Frank

§ One Response to Osama bin Laden is dead

  • Peter says:

    I agree completely. Although I did cry tears of joy that night, later on I did feel the same way. I also felt somewhat ashamed of my countrymen dancing and celebrating death, no matter who the deceased was.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Osama bin Laden is dead at one life. one journey. one alex..

meta

